OpenAI Dev Day 2026: What The Latest Updates Could Change
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Dev Day 2026: What The Latest Updates Could Change on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI used its Sept. 29 DevDay to position ChatGPT as a platform for software agents, announcing Dots, expanded plugins and new developer tools. The announcements include features at different stages of availability, from products offered in eligible markets to APIs in limited preview; pricing, access and capabilities vary.

OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features at its DevDay on Sept. 29, pitching ChatGPT as a platform where people and software agents can work together. The announcements include Dots, persistent agents powered by GPT-6 Astra, expanded plugins, and new APIs for developers, though availability ranges from current access in eligible markets to limited previews and pilots.

OpenAI describes a Dot as an agent that can work on goals over time, using its own cloud computer and browser. Dots can connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins and can be reached through ChatGPT on desktop, web and mobile, as well as Slack and Teams. OpenAI says voice calls work now and texting is planned. The company’s examples include monitoring customer feedback and preparing tested code changes, but these are examples supplied by OpenAI, not independent evaluations.

Access depends on plan and market. OpenAI says the first Dot is included for Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare customers can use a beta if an administrator enables it; the feature is off by default. Chatting with a Dot does not count toward usage limits, according to the source, while tasks it starts in Codex or ChatGPT Work do. OpenAI says users can add Dots or buy more speed and monthly output per Dot later.

OpenAI also expanded its plugin system, adding extensions within ChatGPT, interactive panels, improved discovery and a revised creator and submission process. Sites can host plugins for teams using their own connected data and permissions. Support for the proposed MCP Events specification allows plugins to start automations in response to events in connected apps. The company announced an OpenAI Marketplace for eligible enterprise customers, with 32 launch partners listed, including Figma, Adobe, Salesforce and ServiceNow.

For developers, the Decisions API applies GPT-6 Luna to questions with a finite set of answers defined by the developer. It can take text or images as context and return a choice for tasks such as classification or routing; it is in limited preview. OpenAI also said its Agents API now supports computer use, with OpenAI running the Codex harness. Sign in with ChatGPT is available to 16 launch partners, letting users bring an existing plan to those services. The model slate includes GPT-6.1 Sol, which OpenAI describes as offering near-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of Astra’s token prices.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced Sept. 29, 2026; some features…
The developmentOpenAI announced more than 20 products and features at its Sept. 29, 2026, DevDay, centering on persistent agents and tools for developers.

OpenAI DevDay 2026 at a glance

29 September 2026: more than 20 announcements across ChatGPT, Codex, the API and enterprise.

The five launches that matter, plus Sol

Six of the 20-plus announcements decide what builders do next.
DotsAlways-on agents on GPT-6 Astra with their own cloud computerrolling out
PluginsExtensions, Plugin Creator, discovery, Sites and MCP eventslive now
Decisions APILuna answers from a finite list you definelimited preview
Agents API + computer useManaged Codex harness that can drive a browserpublic beta
Sign in with ChatGPTUsers bring their plan to 16 partner appslive now
GPT-6.1 SolNear-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of the priceWork, Codex, API

The rest of the slate

Green means live, amber means preview or beta, blue means coming.

Collaboration

ChatGPT SpacelivePagesliveCollaborative slidesnext few weeksTeams and Team Taskslive@ChatGPT in Slack and TeamsliveMeetings pluginbeta, macOSShareable profileslive

Codex

Codex CloudliveCLI refreshvoice, /agentsCode ReviewliveCodex Security Cloudlive

Plans, enterprise, speed

Pro 500$500, 25× PlusUltrafastAstra now, Sol soonPrivate IntelligencePrivate Inference this fallBedrock Managed Agentsruns in AWSOpenAI Marketplace32 partners, apply
From “OpenAI DevDay 2026: Everything Announced and What It Means” on thorstenmeyerai.com. Sources: OpenAI DevDay recap and product pages, OpenAI developer docs, The New Stack, The Next Web, Axios, Artificial Analysis. Checked 30 September 2026. OpenAI figures are OpenAI’s own claims.

How Agents Could Reach Customers

The announcements could change how software companies reach users and how users delegate routine work. If a ChatGPT agent selects a plugin to complete a task, a business may receive work through the plugin directory before a customer seeks out its brand directly. That makes discovery, permissions and successful task completion consequential for developers, while users will need to decide which integrations they trust.

For organizations, persistent agents could take on work that spans multiple steps or changes over time. OpenAI’s proposed controls include rules that allow, require approval for or block actions, an activity view, and the ability to pause or stop a Dot. The company says sensitive tasks such as changing a password remain with the user, and warns that Dots can make mistakes. Those safeguards matter because an agent with access to connected apps may affect business records and workflows.

The developer APIs point to a similar shift in software design: applications could delegate narrow decisions to a model or let an agent use an interface on a user’s behalf. The practical effects will depend on reliability, cost, access controls and whether the features work as described outside OpenAI’s demonstrations.

From Chatbot to Agent Platform

OpenAI framed DevDay as a move from ChatGPT as a chatbot toward a shared surface for people and agents. The company said ChatGPT reaches 1.2 billion weekly users; the source material does not specify the measurement period or methodology for that figure. The announcements span consumer access, enterprise pilots and developer previews, so they do not represent a single launch available to everyone.

OpenAI’s plugin plans extend integrations across ChatGPT, Codex and Dots. A plugin can include reusable skills, connections to external services through MCP servers and optional interface elements, according to the source material. OpenAI’s materials also list conversion specifications for restaurant reservations, quote requests and product checkout, and a guide for submitting a Claude Code plugin. These details suggest the company is seeking to accommodate software and agent tools built for other ecosystems, though the scope of compatibility is not fully described.

For businesses, OpenAI says specialist Dots will have their own identity, credentials and IT-provisioned hardware. The company is beginning pilots in procurement, invoice processing, email marketing, customer support and commercial contracting, and plans an integration with Microsoft Agent 365 for governance. These are pilot plans, not a general enterprise rollout.

Access, Limits and Reliability

OpenAI has not specified in the supplied material when the Decisions API will leave limited preview, beyond promising a broad release at an unspecified time. The reach of computer use in the Agents API, the full availability of Dots across markets and plans, and the timetable for planned texting are also unclear.

The source material does not provide independent performance tests for Dots, GPT-6.1 Sol or computer-use agents. It also does not detail the full pricing for adding Dots or buying more speed and monthly output, or explain all the technical limits and failure handling for agents acting through connected apps. OpenAI’s examples and product descriptions should be understood as company statements.

Previews and Enterprise Pilots

Developers can track the Decisions API’s move beyond limited preview and evaluate computer use as OpenAI expands the Agents API. Enterprise customers can watch for the specialist Dot pilots and the planned Microsoft Agent 365 integration. OpenAI has not supplied dates for those steps in the source material.

Users and developers will also be watching how plugin discovery, approval controls and agent reliability work in practice. The company’s next milestones are broader product access and additional details on availability, capacity and governance; those details will determine how widely the DevDay announcements can be used.

Key Questions

What are OpenAI Dots?

Dots are persistent agents powered by GPT-6 Astra, according to OpenAI. They have a cloud computer and browser and can connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins.

Who can use Dots?

OpenAI says Dots are available to Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare customers can use a beta when an administrator enables it; the beta is off by default.

What does the Decisions API do?

It uses GPT-6 Luna to choose from a finite list of answers specified by a developer, using text or images as context. OpenAI says the API is in limited preview.

What changed for plugins?

OpenAI announced plugin extensions inside ChatGPT, updated creation and submission tools, improved discovery, hosted Sites for some organizations, and support for MCP Events that can trigger automations.

Can Dots take actions without approval?

OpenAI describes controls that let users allow, block or require approval for specified actions, and says sensitive tasks such as changing a password stay with the user. The company also warns that Dots can make mistakes.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Should You Use Mistral Forge? A Buyer’s Decision Guide

Evaluate if Mistral Forge fits your needs with this detailed decision guide, covering who it’s for, when it’s suitable, and red flags to watch for.

9 Ways AI Will Impact Society In 2026

Explore nine confirmed impacts of AI on society in 2026, including automation, healthcare, and ethics, with insights into ongoing developments and uncertainties.

Fable 5 Is Back. GPT-5.6 Is Next. And Anthropic Reportedly Already Has Something Stronger.

Fable 5 is back after an 18-day blackout, GPT-5.6 is in limited preview, and rumors suggest a more capable Anthropic model already exists behind the scenes.

A Practical Guide To Using AI For Halloween Decor

A practical guide to AI Halloween decor: compare tools, plan a simple scene, and check safety, privacy, reliability and product claims.